Scenes of Green Mountain College
Home > Academics > The Faculty > Teaching Awards

United Methodist Church
Exemplary Teacher Award

To be eligible for the award, the candidate should be a full-time faculty with at least two-years teaching experience at Green Mountain College. An UMC-GBHEM recipient is eligible to be nominated again five years after having received the award.

The standards for the award should be in line with the UMC-GBHEM statement and the goals, values, and mission of Green Mountain College which are reiterated below:

“The person selected should exemplify excellence in teaching, civility, and concern for students and colleagues: commitment to value-centered education; and service to students, the institution and the community.” (GBHEM)

“An exemplary faculty member should demonstrate excellence in the following areas: exceptional reputation as a teacher; an active contribution to the college and its mission; and scholarly contribution and community involvement.” (GMC)

This award is given to a faculty member from each of 123 United Methodist-related institutions, yearly. Our job is to use the above statement ONLY as a framework for our selection process.

Disclaimer: This award should NOT be confused with the Outstanding Educator of the Year Award, which is given out to ONE educator from the entire Methodist Higher Education family.

Methodist Teaching Award Recipients

1999 – 2000 Mark Parsons
2000 – 2001 Jennifer Baker
2001 – 2002 Mark Dailey
2002 – 2003 Thomas Mauhs-Pugh
2003 – 2004 Rebecca Purdom
2004 – 2005 Laird Christensen
2005 – 2006 Joel Shapiro
2006 – 2007 John Van Hoesen
2007 – 2008 Frank Pauze
2008 – 2009 Karen Swyler
2009 – 2010 Jim Wright
2010 – 2011 Phillip Ackerman-Leist
2011 – 2012 Vance Jackson
2012 – 2013 Jennifer Powers
2013 – 2014 Mitch LesCarbeau

Download Guidelines

© 2015 Green Mountain College | One Brennan Circle | Poultney, Vermont 05764 | 800-776-6675 | MyGMC Login | Email Login