Home > Student Life > Student Handbook > Additional College Policies Affecting Students > Campus Sex Crime Prevention Act
Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act
The Federal Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act, enacted on October 28, 2000, became effective on October 28, 2002. Sex offenders, under the Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act, must register with the state where an institution of higher education is located (even if they do not reside in the state) once they become enrolled or work at an institution of higher education. Changes in enrollment or employment status also must be made known to the state.
Individuals covered by the act include:
- An individual enrolled at an institution of higher education in the state on a full-time or part-time basis
- An individual that has any sort of full-time or part-time employment at an institution of higher education in the state, with or without compensation, for more than 14 days, or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year.
The law requires institutions of higher education to issue a statement advising the campus community where law enforcement agency information provided by a State concerning registered sex offenders may be obtained. In Vermont this information can be obtained at:vcic.vermont.gov/sex_offender or by calling the Vermont Crime Information Center at 802-244-8727.